Fat Boy - Billy Stewart - Billy Stewart The Silver Collection (CD, Album)

Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Billy toured regularly with his band The Soul Kings during the late part of the decade as his hits gained perhaps prematurely a status as classic "oldies" "I Do Love You" even made a comeback on the national charts in Health problems developed; though barely in his thirties, his extreme weight had led to complications with diabetes.

An accident involving a motorcyle sidelined him for a time in , but he was back on the road performing by the end of the year. Billy Stewart 's life ended in tragedy when he was just 32 years old; one can speculate on how much longer he might have lived, considering his physical condition, if fate hadn't stepped in to take him much sooner. On the morning of January 17, , while traveling between scheduled shows, a new Ford Thunderbird Billy was driving suddenly locked up and veered off the road into the Neuse River located near the town of Smithfield in rural North Carolina , causing the deaths of Billy and three members of his band Norman Rich, William Cathey and Rico Hightower.

Real long. He would always get an attitude if someone called him that. He had a real complex when it came to his weight, as he was real heavy. He was a graduate of Armstrong High School. Stewart made the transition to secular music by filling in occasionally for the Rainbows, a D. It was through the Rainbows that Stewart met another aspiring singer, Marvin Gaye. Rock and roller Bo Diddley has been credited with discovering Stewart playing piano in Washington, D.

By , this led to a recording contract with Diddley's label , Chess Records and Diddley played guitar on Stewart's recording of "Billy's Blues". His idiosyncratic improvisational technique of doubling-up, scatting his words and trilling his lips made his style unique in the s. In , Stewart recorded the LP Unbelievable. Stewart continued to record throughout the remainder of the s on Chess without major success.

He was not quite Download IsraCloud My Blog. While on this venture, Billy developed his talents by teaching himself to play the organ, bass, and drums.

He got an opportunity to cut some sides during his stay with the band and recorded a song entitled "Billy's Blues" in Billy wouldn't record anything for the next 5 years. Billy, who was on the Chess label when he was with Bo Diddley's group in , left to sign with the Okeh label in , but would return to the Chess label in the early part of the '60s.

Billy Stewart's nickname was "Fat Boy," and Billy Davis asked him to write a song based on his nickname.

Oct 10,  · Listen to your favorite songs from 20th Century Masters: The Millennium Collection: Best Of Billy Stewart by Billy Stewart Now. Stream ad-free with Amazon Music Unlimited on mobile, desktop, and tablet. Download our mobile app now.

9 thoughts on “Fat Boy - Billy Stewart - Billy Stewart The Silver Collection (CD, Album)”

  1. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of The collection on Discogs.
  2. The Best of Billy Stewart: 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection Billy Stewart. out of 5 stars Audio CD. A Fat Boy Can Cry 7. I Do Love You 8. Keep Loving 9. Sitting In The Park How Nice It Is Because I Love You this CD, even with its higher pricetag, gets the edge. In any event, Stewart's music has a 5/5(3).
  3. This is the only CD of Billy's that has both Part 1 and 2 of Billy's Blues. I bought this song on a 45 RPM record in on Chess Label and it was my introduction to Billy Stewart. I cannot tell you how many times I played it over and over again (I loved the sound). Then a few months later, Summertime was released and it blew me away/5(8).
  4. rows · Billy Stewart (March 24, – January 17, ) was an American musical artist, with a .
  5. Pianist and singer Billy Stewart was a distinctive and influential R&B vocalist whose stuttering delivery and word-repetition technique borrowed liberally from the jazz practice of scat singing. Born in Washington, D.C., in , Stewart started singing publicly with his mother's group, the Stewart Gospel Singers, as a teenager. He moved into secular music by filling in occasionally for the.
  6. Explore releases from Billy Stewart at Discogs. Shop for Vinyl, CDs and more from Billy Stewart at the Discogs Marketplace.
  7. Back at Chess in the early s, Stewart began working with A&R man Billy Davis. He recorded a song called "Fat Boy" and then had additional success with his recordings of "Reap What You Sow" and "Strange Feeling", both making the Billboard Hot and the Top 30 in the R&B charts.
  8. Billy Stewart - A Fat Boy Can Cry () Billy Stewart - Tell It Like It Is () Billy Stewart - Sweet Senorita () Billy Stewart - I Do Love You () Billy Stewart - Keep Loving () Billy Stewart - Sitting In The Park () Billy Stewart - Once Again () CD 2 1. Billy Stewart - How Nice It Is () 2.
  9. Apr 01,  · Mr Billy Stewart appears for the first time on the jukebox with his classic tune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *